What We’re Reading: The New Obsession

Another post is scheduled for tonight at midnight, but I wanted to take a moment to talk about the current book my son wants us to read at least once, often two or three times, a day.  A couple of weeks ago, I mentioned Cookie’s Week, and while he enjoyed it enough that we checked it back out from the library, the book occupying his naptime and sometimes twice before bed (once with his dad, once with me) is Dragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin and Daniel Salmieri.

It’s silly and over the top, and my son can’t get enough of it.  Dragons love two things more than anything else: tacos and parties, but they hate spicy taco toppings.

While the writing isn’t superb, it does have a patterned conversational style with lots of dramatic flair that my son enjoys.  I picked this book up when he was an infant, mostly because my daughter is a dragon and loves tacos (and hates spicy taco toppings, too).  The Little Fox hadn’t really latched on to this book at all until a few weeks ago, and now we can’t escape it.  Of course, my partner and I have completely different methods of reading books to him.  I was a drama kid growing up, spending most of my free time either on stage or in the greenroom getting ready to perform.  My partner is an intelligent, somewhat reserved geek who only goes over the top when playing with our son.  It may be why our son is so interested in having us read the same book in the same night: we give him the same story with entirely different inflections.

But sometimes it wears on my partner to read the same book night after night, and after another grumping and huffing on his part, I talked to him about developmental behavior surrounding reading at this age.  It’s fairly easy to find articles on this all saying the same thing, so I picked one at random to refer to, and it just happens to have some tips on how to make it easier on the parent to re-read the same books.  Of course, you can’t always pick your kid’s favorite book at any given time.  My son’s choices have been entirely his own, and not at all the books I’d like to read to him night after night.  So far, I know almost all the words to the following books by heart:

  • Owl Babies
  • The Napping House
  • Hippopposites
  • One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish
  • The Cat in the Hat
  • I Can Read with My Eyes Closed
  • Cookie’s Week
  • Dragons Love Tacos

While some of these titles are centered around repetition or rhyming, some of them completely break from an easy pattern.  So choosing the books that are tolerable for you to read every night might sound like a good solution, there’s a good chance the books your child wants to hear again and again aren’t the same ones.  Though it may feel like a sacrifice or annoyance, as it does to my partner, at least you can feel good that it’s worth it, as you’re building a strong foundation for future communication skills.

One thought on “What We’re Reading: The New Obsession

  1. Pingback: Dragons Love Tacos Party | Willow and Birch

Leave a Reply

