Two Books and an Update

IMG_3212

The Dragon and Fox out on a Pokéwalk

Much happened since my last post, and it’s taken me a bit to come around to all of it.  A dear friend passed away, I visited my best friend who attended the death ritual, our family started playing Pokémon Go, and I completed my solo debut novel’s manuscript after letting it slide for over a year.

 

Why include Pokemon?  Because my feet have blisters, and it’s changed how we spend our days, even those we consider “at home” days.

Since all of these changes have left me rather ill, I am working on resting before throwing myself too hard into my next project, so this post will be brief.

My son has been enjoying two books from the library this week.  One helps us talk about death in a gentle way, and the other keeps us playful and bright.

81ow8gvvh6lA serendipitous find, we stumbled across Mrs. Huggins and Her Hen Hannah by Lydia Dabcovich from a recommendation at just the right time.  The gentle pictures of a rural life shared between an elder woman and her best friend, shows the joys one can have in daily tasks when in good company, and the life that goes on even after death and grief.

follow-me-9781481471473_lgThe other book, Follow me! by Ellie Sandall, shows a different sort of life: a communal life of ring-tailed lemurs as they move from waking to sleep and all the joy and danger in between.  The images are bright and clear, the language simple, yet allowing for a lot of variation in delivery, which is great for my drama prince who giggles when my theatrical training comes through during storytelling.

 

EDIT: Since my daughter will be celebrating her 16th birthday (and my partner his 46th, on the same day), we’ll be extraordinarily busy next week.  There will be no post, but the following Wednesday, I’ll have a new update about the party.  Thanks for your patience.

Leave a Reply

