3 More Transportation Books for Young Children

In early March, I shared three book titles about transportation to delight your vehicle-loving child.  Here are another three for your family.

61epasarq9l-_sx258_bo1204203200_Truck Duck by Michael Rex

An adorable rhyming preschooler’s book in which a variety of animals are found driving different vehicles.  My son loves talking about transportation, and I’m happy talking about the animals.  (Though I had a huge collection of Hot Wheels as a kid, these days I much prefer focusing on nature and living beings.)  Also, the rhymes are cute, like Rig Pig and Tow Crow.  It’s quick, it’s informative, and my son thinks it’s a lot of fun.

9780439050234_xlgDuck on a Bike by David Shannon

A little boy leaves his shiny red bike and goes into the house, and Duck gets an idea.  Filled with bright images of larger than life animals share a community where each animal has different opinions about Duck’s bike riding.  This amusing book is full of silliness and though each animal thinks of Duck’s riding in their own way, their opinions don’t sway  Duck from enjoying himself.  The link includes both book and CD, and if you like it enough, there’s even a video.

61h3iuxawul-_sx258_bo1204203200_The Little Engine the Could by Watty Piper

Nothing beats a classic.  The poor little engine that breaks down and can’t bring the toys and good foods to the boys and girls on the other side of a mountain.  As they ask for help of various engines that pass by, each one gives some reason why they can’t — or won’t — assist those in need.  Then a kind little engine comes by who has never been further than the train yard.  Recently, my son has begun saying, “I can’t,” about all sorts of things he can do.  It’s an annoying but not uncommon behavior, and since he loves vehicles, I figured this classic train story could give him motivation to think of himself as capable in a variety of situations.  When I read it, I give each engine a distinct voice and personality, and try to make the repetitive train dialogue (e.g. “I think I can”) sound like train noises.

Leave a Reply

