Using Our Voices

 We’re learning a lot about using our voices.  My son has learned to say things about his emotions like, “That hurt me,” or “Va-coom scare me, dada.”  He’s able to express a lot about his thoughts and is playing with sentence structure.

Daughter is working on finding her voice in her writing through fan fiction and original stories.  We’ve spent time talking about character development, realism, and what drives a plot.  While I had difficulty getting up in front of an audience of over 200 people to introduce the first in a series of concerts my volunteer organization is producing this summer.  It’s been so long since I performed or gave a public speech (over ten years!) that my nerves were frazzled and I flubbed a few things.  At least I kept it brief.  I have to do it again tonight and four more times after.  Yikes!

WHAT WE’RE DOING

Since my partner will be celebrating another birthday this Sunday along with my daughter, we’ve been working on cleaning and reorganizing the den. It’s a long unused room that became a dumping ground for every stray cable, tool, or poster that no longer had a place in any other room.

It’s a big project, but we’re turning it into a functional room.  We already have our modem and network hub in there, along with a couple of old computers.  We’re starting the process of turning it into a gaming room and office.  By Solstice, we’ll also be adding a futon (the one in my daughter’s room) because she’ll be getting an IKEA bunk bed, so it can double as a guest room when necessary.

In the process, my daughter is learning How to organize and clear clutter without the usual emotional attachment she has when she cleans her room.  She’s also learning about different cables and tools, as she took on the challenge of sorting them last night.

My son has spent his time while we work sorting CDs on a spool, playing with the Simon, assembling a small puzzle, and playing with his sister’s doll house.

Though not everything I’d like to do with the room will be done by Sunday, my goal is to get it to a functional state so we can play a family game that evening.

WHAT WE’RE READING

As a pagan parent t two nature-loving children, this poem struck a chord within me:

Sometimes a Wild God
WHAT WE’RE WATCHING
In our house we talk a lot about bias, unconscious and learned forms of perceiving others, and what assumptions we make in judging others (often moral judgements) from only the tiniest bits of information.  This week, we watched the following TEDTalk:

Yasmin Abdel Mageid: What Does My Head Scarf Mean to You?

WHAT WE’RE EATING

 We’ve been enjoying lots of summer and simple treats, but during the recent heat wave and in the midst of drought, we’ve consumed a lot of different types of salad.  This week, I bought a huge bunch of purslane, which I’d tried to grow in the past with limited success.

Last night I added it to a white wine sauce for pasta and vegetables and for lunch today, I added liberal amounts of purslane leaves to our spinach and arugula salad (a side to our mock rye with liverwurst).

Since I want to use it for more than salads, I went looking and found this link: 45 things to do with purslane.

Look for it in your area, the leaves are light and refreshing, the texture a bit crisp but silky, and the flavor provides a lot of nuance to a typical green salad. It’s high in vitamin C and helps humans process omega-3s.

Leave a Reply

