Skill Diversity

One of the unspoken goals playing out in the back of my mind is to offer the children in my life the opportunity to live by the principles of this quote:

The Notebooks of Lazarus Long

The Notebooks of Lazarus Long (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects.

–Lazarus Long, Time Enough For Love

I’d like to add such concepts as: speak a foreign language, grow vegetables, sew a button, birth a baby, nurse the sick, darn a sock, knit a scarf, play an instrument, and so on, but above all, I want to ensure I’m instilling a diverse body of knowledge and skills — the ability to learn and explore the world’s many flavors — in my daughter and all those children whose lives I touch.

Sometimes, though, I can barely manage to get through math, science, and literature in a week, and wonder where the time went.  I worry often I’ll not be able to come anywhere near my ideals, and thus, fail my daughter, leaving her without the tools she needs to succeed in the world.  *sigh*  Does every parent feel this way?  I find myself even more lost without my mother, all the questions I have now have go unanswered without her experience to guide me.  It’s cruel they only come to me now to even consider asking . . .

Leave a Reply

