Driving My Daughter Insane

As we stepped from the library doors out into the sunshine, I said to Daughter, “Guess what DVD I checked out.”

She eyed me dubiously.  “What?”

I lifted up the cover and showed her: Dirt!

There was a roll of the eyes and a groan.  We got into the car and I added, “Guess what book I got as well?”  She refused to guess. “A gardening book!”

Her eyes squeezed shut and she pinched the bridge of her nose.

Nevertheless, she enthusiastically attacked the berry vines covering the backyard and helped remove bricks buried beneath a year of soil and grasses.

Leave a Reply

