Projects: February Reading Selections

Once again, I’m remiss in getting this posted on time, but my schedule has changed significantly, and I’ve still not found my rhythm.

My friend’s son challenged himself to draw in response to Martin Luther King, Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech, and he came up with three very different portraits in ink:

MLK Portraits in ink, property of A.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Portraits in Ink: 1 & 2

Portrait in Ink, propert of A.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Portrait in Ink 3

My favorite is the second one.  While the first and third look nothing like MLK, Jr., the second one could be interpreted as an abstract portrait, which was in line with the art classes I started teaching both older children a couple of weeks ago.  Perhaps, though, if he’d remembered MLK’s mustache, it might bear a closer resemblance.  😉

Squirelflight decided to use the 18 rules in Mark Twain’s “Fenimore Cooper’s Literary Offenses” as the basis to writing her own short story.  While she spent hours every day for almost a week pounding out hen-pecked keys, the format was all in a block and almost unreadable.  She is currently editing her piece by hand, complete with editor’s marks I taught her, so she can reformat the story for our next session.  Speaking of which, here are the selections for February:

Previous Reading Selections:

Leave a Reply

